Sickness, Sin, and Sloth

That pretty much sums up February through May.  June 1 marks a shift in attitude thinking everything that began at 4:45 this morning and going out the door for an amazing sunrise run.

  • Work is not going to own me like it has over the last few months – mostly between the ears.  It has affected my mood, my sleep, and the way I interact with pretty much everyone.  For the most part, I think others would be polite if they called interactions anything other than unrewarding.  What has been missing are the head-clearing morning (and sometimes evening) runs in the cool air.  More of that.
  • What I like to refer to as the “no liquor rule,” which usually begins in the last couple months of training is in effect now.  Beer?  I’ll never give up on you, beer…but we’re going to see a lot less of each other.
  • While the last 6-7 years have been mostly good, as far as diet goes, refocusing on the “food is fuel” mantra will guide even smarter decisions that are focused like a laser on peak performance. I know all the right things to do and will do them all even better.

As previously mentioned, what’s done is done.  With 126 days until Twin Cities – and a sizable goal – there is a lot to be done in the 18 weeks ahead.  (Could it really be that my last PR effort will have been two years ago by the time I toe the line in Minneapolis?)  My, how time flies…

BolderBoulder

All of my spring “racing” is done now, the last of my planned races being the BolderBoulder 10k.   I ran leisurely through the hilly parts in the first 3.5 – 4 miles, and then sped up in the last 2.2 miles for negative splits and a finishing pace of 7:16/mile (45:10 overall). That is a sobering reality because I have to run faster than that for an additional 20 miles to beat the goal in October.  It was a perfect day, and I enjoyed it. It is good marker for the beginning of summer with which I can compare everything to at the end of the year.

The sun finally came out just in time for this year's BOLDERBoulder.

The sun finally came out just in time for this year’s BOLDERBoulder!!

See you out on the trail…

Categories: Training | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Sickness, Sin, and Sloth

  1. I’m glad to hear training, life and everything is going well. I feel like the summer will fly by. I think you are fully capable of chasing your Pr at twin cities.

    • That’s the plan. I’ll probably need a good run in Philly to ensure success! 😉

Blog at WordPress.com.

